Depression, EUPD, Invisible Illness, Mania, Mental Health, Undiagnosed Illness

Mark Twain quotations – Duels

If a man should challenge me, I would take him kindly and forgivingly by the hand and lead him to a quiet retired spot and kill him.

via Mark Twain quotations – Duels.

This is one of my favourite quotes. I used it as my email signature for many years.

Since getting a diagnosis of EUPD (Emotionally Unstable Personality Disorder) it makes a lot more sense to me why it appeals so much.

I don’t respond well to criticism and I take any “challenge” as an implication that someone thinks they are better than me or I am not capable of doing something.

My messed-up, arrogant persona assumes that there is NOTHING I cannot do well and to suggest so is to mortally offend me.

Does this cause issues in my personal life? Only rarely. Most people are warned off by my overly assertive (aggresive) reaction to a suggestion that I can’t do something and tend not to ever mention it again (if they know what’s good for them anyway… 😉 )

Leave a Reply

