My Future, My Past, My Present

Fools Day Blog – Part Two (Now it gets messy…)

Well, if you read Part One, you are now aware that I was born and suffered some minor traumas up until the tha age of 20 when I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes.

Many of the mishaps I’m about to recount are a direct result of going “hypo” which is short for Hypoglycaemic or low blood sugar in layman’s terms.

Symptoms and signs of hypoglycaemia can include:

  • feeling hungry
  • sweating
  • dizziness
  • tiredness (fatigue)
  • blurred vision
  • trembling or shakiness
  • going pale
  • fast pulse or palpitations
  • tingling lips
  • irritability
  • difficulty concentrating
  • confusion
  • disorderly or irrational behaviour, which may be mistaken for drunkenness

If hypoglycaemia isn’t treated promptly and blood glucose levels drop low enough, you may become drowsy or even lose consciousness.

I can also have fits and REALLY twat myself! = read on…

  • 1996 – appeared as an extra (Kavanagh QC), dressed as a Nazi Skinhead. Went hypo, on my way home, at Finsbury Park station (still dressed as character) and cut head open and dislocated jaw. Taken to Homerton hospital where I had to wait 3-4 hours (unable to talk) for them to find a doctor who could put it back in place. I can still dislocate it if I yawn too wide…

DEN_dislocated_jaw

  • 2000 – Two classics – broke wrist rollerblading (in Hyde Park) then had bus run over my thumb (after going hypo) on New Oxford Street (Air Ambulance called)…. N.B. – NOT same day…

2011- Hypo (again) –  Woke up and snapped the head off my right femur – SO much fun….

presurgery  Before…

hip After….

That’s called a “Swivelling Hip Joint”

Bet you can’t wait for Part Three – SPIDERS!!!

Leave a Reply

