Depression, EUPD, General Humour, Invisible Illness, Mania, Mental Health

The trouble with EUPD and…

being mentally (and physically) ill is the lack of control.

It’s ESPECIALLY infuriating when your condition makes you a control freak.

Being emotionally unstable doesn’t help. The mania means you want to achieve EVERYTHING instantly whilst the depression means that often you are unable to do ANYTHING!

Humor is the great thing, the saving thing. The minute it crops up, all our irritations and resentments slip away and a sunny spirit takes their place. – Mark Twain

My humour is often dark and it is often cruel but I try to use it as a coping mechanism. Without humour I would be a very dangerous person – filled to the brim with anger and frustration with no outlet for the bile – (now that’s funny because I just had my gall bladder removed…)

These blogs are obviously an outlet for my creative streak (I write in the nude…) but they are also a great way to try to force order out of the maelstrom of thoughts that run riot through my mind.

Is it possible to think too much? It’s certainly possible to think too little and I’m guilty of that too. Of course, as discussed yesterday I’m probably a sociopath so feel no guilt 😉

I’m hoping a book will come out of all these ramblings and I also use it as a sounding board for ideas that will be material for stand up. it’s very tricky though to write about health and medical issues without sounding depressing or self-pitying.

“Depression” is an emotive subject (Ha Ha) – the main problem I’ve found is that people who are fortunate to have never suffered from it just cannot understand it and especially why you just can’t “snap out of it”.

Ever tried to “Snap” out of a broken leg?

Depression truly is a “crippling” condition – it’s not just feeling “down” or “sad” – it literally takes away your ability to function as a “normal” human being – and generally there’s not a damn thing you can do about it, you just have to wait for it to pass or hope that medication will help.

I shan’t harp on about depression (it’s too depressing).

My plan for the day is to try to do positive things – I’ve obviously just written this and had a bath and a shave. Later I shall confront one of the biggest bains in my life – going to the supermarket – an activity I HATE with a passion.

I may blog again later about my supermarket experience – it’s not a subject I’ve touched on before and I’m sure I shall get some amusing material from it.

Leave a Reply

