I’m not going to get into a great diatribe or debate about luck and fate, the will of the gods or whether people deserve good or bad luck.

My position is that I would be incredibly lucky if I had more information or worked harder to get and stay informed.

That’s rubbish. Everyone knows luck exists and there’s nothing you can do to change that.

Lets look at an example. I want to back a winning horse. I can get a certain amount of information regarding the chances of a horse winning a race by looking at readily available information. History, age, record of jockey, prowess of trainer, best weather conditions etc.

Well duh. But at the end of the day there’s still an element of ‘luck’.

Really? But what if I had ALL the information.

What if I had all the vets reports? Knowledge of the relationship status of all the jockeys and their physical condition.What if I knew about any underhand dealings by owners influencing the riders? What if I knew which horse would get hit by lightning?

You’re being silly now No one could know that.

Well I’m pretty sure none of them would. They don’t hold horse races during thunderstorms …

Who’s the silly one now?

But do you see where I’m taking this? I bet (pun intended!) that I could be pretty bloody lucky if had access to enough information.

But then that the book-makers would ‘nobble’ me… 😉

I’m not the first to cast this opinion regarding luck –

“Shallow men believe in luck or in circumstance. Strong men believe in cause and effect.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’m never likely to be lucky. I’m just too lazy … 🙂

One thought on “Are you shallow or strong?

  1. You are lucky….you have me, plus you took that ‘gamble’ to meet me that first time, there were no weather warnings/clues as to what I was really like, it could have been a disaster considering the situation in which we met, but it still worked out in the end 😉 But as you well know, I believe in Karma rather than luck – an entirely different ‘ball game’….maybe another addition to your blog?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

