Do you think enough? Do you have the opportunity to think? Do you want to think? Or is it too much effort and distressing…

Sure, I think all the time.

Sure you do. You think about ‘stuff’. About work, what to eat, where to go, what to do, and so on. And you worry. About your health, about your family, your relationships etc.

What else should I think about?

Ooh. Good question. The obvious answer is ‘What is the meaning of life?’, but that would be a cop out and way too difficult. No one has come up with a definitive answer to that one. Except may be Douglas Adams.

42

How about taking a minute to think about who you are? Why do you believe what you do? Where did those beliefs and behaviours come from? Why do you act/react in certain ways?

Are you really a Christian? A Conservative? Are you really against fox-hunting? Did you really enjoy that film?

Or was it just ‘easier’ to think that way? Go with the flow?

I’m not suggesting that any of those things are wrong or trying to change your mind about them. Everyone is free to think what they want and in this day and age our private thoughts are one of the few private things we have left.

I’m very lucky in some ways. I have a lot of time on my hands due to health issues but this gives me the opportunity for self-examination and I’m finding that some of the thoughts/beliefs I’ve always had about myself are shockingly wrong. But that’s ok. Some of them are upsetting but some of them also make me stronger.

I think everyone should think more. Not just go along with what others tell you to think.

Give it a try.

You’ve got a brain. See if you REALLY CAN’T believe it’s not butter.

One thought on “The fine art of thinking…

Leave a Reply

